Holding long positions of EUR overnight certainly bore fruits... but unfortunately I dump them all way too early as EUR continue to show strength throughout the day. Although my change to short EUR position seem to pay off towards the evening, the market shift and shift way too fast to make decisions. At one time EUR was fluctuating from 1.4320-1.4400 so furiously that I was making quite a tidy sum! I was about USD300+ to the good then but things turned ugly thereafter.
After Bernanke's speech which said ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.. I mean, he talked but to me it meant nothing. And get this, when Bernanke says nothing at all, EUR soars! GBP soars!!! CHF plunges!!! Now, tell me... how does this make sense? By economic terms, when Bernanke says nothing with so much ambiguity... that means US is not going to print more money, hence the value of USD against other currencies WILL NOT depreciate... BUT, what the heck? It collapses against the Euro, hitting a high of 1.4500! Of course I am sore! When it climbed from the zenith of 1.4320 till 1.4410... I thought this is crazy... I started shorting my positions but it continued to climb! I cut my losses at 1.4480... I do not think I want to further subject myself to uncertainties. It just doesn't make sense.
And with Bernanke not giving calmness to the market, except he made some remarks that Governments must take charge of the economy and not to leave the responsibility of management of the economy to the Fed, together with the Fed has MANY tools to address the economic uncertainties without mentioning them.... I really wonder if all these statements mean anything at all? And how can the markets react with such vigour to a statement which meant..... NOTHING?
Anyway, what I was so sore about was cutting losses to the tune of USD260 over the last 20 minutes of my trade. It just trimmed my gains for the day back to something more believable. I achieved my forecast for week 1 actually.... End week balance of USD383 in my kitty with a 50+% gain today... could have been 150% but, lets be real.... I lost all of it due to:
1. Inexperience.
2. Greed
Now,
I realize something, when a position is making money, hold it. Do not cut it for the gains. I have this itchy finger to click tendency when I see some trades making money.
Secondly, NEVER... NEVER go against the trend. This was the mistake that I seem to be making everyday... except for a brief moment in today's trade in the morning through to late afternoon when I was FOLLOWING the trend I was pretty much in the comfort zone.
FOLLOW THE TREND AND DO NOT BE GREEDY